IPNA AWARDS 2022

Ira Greifer Award



Prof. Pierre Cochat

Prof. Pierre Cochat became an IPNA member in 1987 and was proud to start his adventure with IPNA by receiving the Young Investigator Award in 1992. He became an IPNA Council member in 2004, and Assistant Secretary in 2008 representing the European Society for Paediatric Nephrology. He served as Chair of the Teaching Committee and IPNA Secretary General elect in 2010 prior to serving as IPNA President from 2013 through 2019.



Prof. Isidro Salusky

Isidro B. Salusky, Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics and Chief of the Division of Pediatric Nephrology at the UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine became an IPNA Council member in 1995, leveraging this position to pursue his passion to enhance the training of the next generation of pediatric nephrologists around the world. With his noteworthy contributions and dedication to IPNA, Isidro was elected to serve as Treasurer from 2004 through 2007 and IPNA President from 2007 through 2013.

Lifetime Achievement Award



Prof. Felicia Eke

Prof. Felicia Eke used her position as a pediatric nephrologist as an opportunity to educate a new generation of physicians initially in her home town of Port Harcourt, and later throughout the remainder of Nigeria. She has been an unwavering advocate for children with kidney disease throughout Africa, determined to support and assist the development of emerging programs for the care of children with kidney disease despite their presence in challenging, low resource



Prof. Rajendra Srivastava

Dr. Rajendra Srivastava's accomplishments over the past 50 years have most notably been in consonance with IPNA's goals. He has promoted the establishment and delivery of curative services for children with kidney disorders, especially in smaller cities, in addition to playing a key role in the provision of kidney replacement therapy at tertiary centers.

Educational Award



Prof. Rezan Topaloglu

Prof. Rezan Topaloglu has served IPNA and ESPN for many years, as a council member and as President of the ESPN. She is dedicated to the educational mission of IPNA and has led the establishment and promotion of the unique IPNA Junior Master Classes program to assist young colleagues become state-of-the-art pediatric nephrologists. Prof. Topaloglu has served as the Chair of the IPNA Junior Master Classes Committee since its establishment in 2013.

Renée Habib Award



Rahul Chanchlani, MD

Dr. Rahul Chanchlani is an Associate Professor in the Division of Nephrology, Department of Pediatrics at McMaster Children's Hospital, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. After finishing his medical training from India, he completed a clinical fellowship in pediatric nephrology at the Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, and pursued a Master's in Clinical Epidemiology and Clinician Investigator Program from the University of Toronto. Dr. Chanchlani receives the prize for outstanding record of achievement and creativity in basic and patient-oriented research related to pediatric kidney diseases.

Humanitarian Award



Prof. Dmytro Ivanov

Dr. Dmytro Ivanov has been a pediatric nephrologist since 1989. He helped establish Pediatric Nephrology in Ukraine, resulting in the creation of a system for the provision of pediatric kidney care throughout his country where he continues to practice. He also helped develop a course of specialization and postgraduate education for pediatric nephrologists in Ukraine through the Renal Eastern Europe Nephrology Academy (REENA). During the war in Ukraine, Prof. Ivanov exerted a major effort to connect with international nephrology organizations and organize support for Ukrainian patients with kidney diseases and his colleagues working in extremely difficult circumstances.

